This winter holiday season, give a precious gift to your career by upgrading your skills. | Get Flat 15 - 20% OFF on All Courses | Save Today

[iqquestion id=62]

11 thoughts on “Manual Testing : STLC Discussion 3

  • Olubunmi Ogunsola

    1. Requirement gathering — it talks about what types of testing will be required and checks for possible future faults.
    2. Design — Detailing the requirement is done.
    3. Development — This is where the test cases are written
    4. Testing — The testing of test cases or test plans. Also testing using automatic or manual methods.
    5. Deployment — Software is installed for real world use
    6. Maintenance — The upkeep of test plans and test cases

  • skaur

    Various phases of STLC are
    Requirement analysis: In this phase, requirements are analyzed in order to decide what type of testing is needed.
    Designing: In this phase test plans are designed
    Development: During this phase, test plans, test strategies, and test cases are developed
    Test: All tests will be executed during testing phase
    Defect management: Testers will report defects to the developers
    Reports: During this phase, various reports are created and testing is complete

  • collins

    Requriment- Analysis- when the discuss what needs to be tested

    Design- WHen you develop your test plan

    development- This is when your test plan, and test case in done
    Testing- to test the test plan
    deployment- testers will send over the defects
    maintenace- to keep up with the test cases
    maintenance- t

  • Jomon Elengical

    1. Requirement analysis/ design review: Review the software requirements
    2. Test Planning: after gathering a general idea of what needs to be tested, you plan for the test
    3. Test Designing: design / detail your tests on the basis of detailed requirements/design of software
    4. Test environment set up: set up the test environment ie the server, client, network etc with the goal of replicating the end users environment
    5. Test execution: execute test cases/scripts in the test environment to see whether they pass.
    6. Test reporting: prepare various reports for the stake holders.

    – jyothi

  • Pamela halbhavi

    Requirements Analysis/Design: Review the s/w reqs and design.
    Test Planning: Once you have the general idea of what needs to be tested , you “plan” for the test and create test Planing doc.
    Test Designing: Develop/write the test cases based on the requirements doc.
    Test Environment Setup: prepare the test environment for testing i.e., client/servers/network/test data closely emulating the client’s environment.
    Test execution: Actual execution of Test cases/test scripts are done in the test environment setup.
    Test reporting: Prepare reports for the stakeholders which include – Test Results(final),Test/Defect metrics,Test Closure reports etc.

  • Subhashini Vaddey

    STLC has various phases:
    Requirements analysis: Tester review and analyze the requirements

    Design Test Scenarios: After review the requirement tester design the test scenario as per requirement.

    Test planning: Tester have planning what to test what should not test, what environment should be needed.

    Test case designing: Tester writes the detailed test case as per requirement.

    Test Environment set up: For the testing purpose need hardware and software tools needs to be installed and ready for testing

    Test execution: Tester executes the test cases once the application is ready to test on the server or net work.

    Finding defects: Tester finds the defects against the requirement.

    Test Reporting: Tester prepare testing reports which includes test results.

    Test cycle close: Closes the test cycle.

  • Banksy

    Gather Requirements: Tester reviews, Business needs, reasons for created the project and what needs it is to meet with the Software.

    Analyse: The Test Scenarios which will be run

    Design the Test: Create a test document that fits the analysis

    Test the Software based on the Test Cases

    Report the defects to the Developers

    Re-test and produce results

  • Solomon Ayanaw Habtu

    STLS does not have specific flows it depends on how SDLS looks. Nonetheless it should include the following:

    System Requirement and Design Review: at his phase the QA looks what functionalities are supposed to be done and what is done in the Design part and assures that Design is done based on the SRS and FRS.

    System Analysis: In this phase the human, hardware, software resources; test scope, what to taste, approaches to test the system, risk, cost and time frame will be defined clearly.

    Test case development: in this phase base on the requirement a clear step to test each functionalities of the system, and non functionalities will be step down clearly. test case, RTM will be documented

    Test Bed: Setup the test environment will be done here

    Execution: in this phase using RTM, each test case will be run and get the result in the form of defect or success. if defect report to the developer to fix it. test cycle will be here

    Test Cycle Closure: based on entry and exit criteria the test cycle will be closed or keep as it is until the bugs fixed.

    Test result analyses: at this phase how much defects found and how much fixed and what is the severity of the rest defects will be analysed and decition will be done to certify the whole system. Report will be given to developers and high officials.

  • tjakins

    Requirement/Gathering stage
    Gather as much information as possible about the details & specifications of the desired software from the client.

    Design Stage.
    Plan the programming language like Java, PHP, .net; database like Oracle, MySQL, etc. that will be suitable for the project.

    Built Stage
    After design stage, it is built stage, this is where the actual code of the software is done by the Developers.

    Test Stage
    Next, you test the software to verify that it is built as per the specifications given by the client.

    Deployment stage
    Deploy the application in the respective environment

    Maintenance stage
    Once your system is ready to use, you may require to change the code later on as per customer request

  • Charchika Ailavajjala

    STLC: basically stands for (software test life cycle). STLC is a completely Testing activity and is mainly divided into 3 parts
    1.Test Planning
    2.Test Design
    3.Test Environment setup and Test Execution

    1. Test Planning phase: it is divided into iniciate phase and define phase: When the BRD and FRD is created the contribution of the testers is zero, when BRD is given to all the stake holders, testers will review the documents and do the feasibility testing and find what can be tested and what can’t(Scope and de-scope).
    define: what(Objective) and when(Time – schedules), where(Test enivironment),Who(Testers ) all these are finalized.

    2.Test Design phase: Test scenarios and test cases are designed based on the requirement document and sent it for a peer and supervisory review. The finalized testcases collected.

    3. Test Execution: make sure the the application is unit tested and the test environment is ready for testing. Check for the smoke and sanity testing to see if the application is stable. Always keep in the mindset of the end-user while testing the application and execute the test cases. Report the no of test cases that are pass or fail. Create a defect report on the deviation over the requirements.

    Once all the defects are resolved retest them and verify, Take a sign off from all the stake holders for confirmation before releasing the application to production or operations team.

Leave a Reply